Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra: The Birds

Offer: Season Ticket available

Vasily Petrenko conductor

Korngold Theme from The Sea Hawk
Delius Two Pieces for Small Orchestra: On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring and Summer Night on the River
Respighi Suite, The Birds
Stravinsky The Firebird (original version, 1910)

Green-clawed demons, summer fragrances, ancient dances and Errol Flynn: the 20th century was when classical music exploded into Technicolor. In Italy, France, Russia and America, four great composers throw caution to the wind in four ravishingly melodious orchestral showpieces – from Stravinsky’s revolutionary ballet, to Korngold’s buccaneering score for one of the all-time great Hollywood swashbucklers. Vasily Petrenko is never happier than when exploring new worlds, but he’ll also find the inner glow in Delius’s luminous
musical watercolour, and bring out all the mock-baroque playfulness of Respighi’s (and definitely not Hitchcock’s!) The Birds.