Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra: Fingal’s Cave

Offer: Season Ticket available

Jacek Kaspszyk conductor
Henning Kraggerud violin

Hebrides Overture (Fingal’s Cave)


Violin Concerto

Symphony No.4

When Johannes Brahms wrote his last symphony, he wasn’t going gently into the night: it begins with a sigh, but ends with a tempest. It’s one of classical music’s most stirring spiritual journeys, and guest conductor Jacek Kaspszyk knows how to make it sing – just as the charismatic Norwegian violinist Henning Kraggerud will wring every last drop of feeling from the fire and ice of Sibelius’s Violin Concerto. But first, all aboard for a boat-trip, as the young Felix Mendelssohn sets sail for the Hebrides. You can almost taste the salt!