RLPO Series 16-17: Paul Lewis plays Mozart

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra presents
Paul Lewis plays Mozart.

Liszt Les Préludes
Mozart Piano Concerto No.27 in B flat, K595
Saint Saens Danse Macabre
Ravel Piano Trio (orchestrated by Yan Pascal Tortelier)

Yan Pascal Tortelier – conductor
Paul Lewis – piano

You might know it as the theme tune to Jonathan Creek, or as one of Saint-Saёns’ most popular pieces, Danse Macabre… either way, it’s superbly sinister and a spine tingling affair. Wait until you hear the orchestral magic that guest conductor Yan Pascal Tortelier will weave from Saint-Saёns and the supernatural to Ravel’s sensuous Ravel’s Piano Trio. First though we’ve got Merseyside’s very own keyboard magician Paul Lewis in Mozart’s poignant final piano concerto, and a true classic from times past: Liszt’s barnstorming Les Préludes – a marvellously noisy musical celebration of life itself.