RLPO series 16-17: The Dream Team Returns

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra presents
The Dream Team Returns

Tchaikovsky The Seasons: April, May, June, July, August (orchestrated by Sergei Abir)
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No.3
Smetana Má Vlast Vltava, Šárka, Blaník

Vasily Petrenko – conductor
Simon Trpčeski – piano

They’ve been called the “dream team” and when Vasily Petrenko and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra come together with Macedonian firebrand Simon Trpčeski, they generate enough electricity to light up a city. Mind you, Prokofiev’s explosive Third Piano Concerto is pretty high voltage to begin with: believe us; this is going to get hot. But first Petrenko begins with Tchaikovsky’s lovely little watercolours of the Russian seasons – and ends with a true orchestral party-piece: Smetana’s stirring tribute to his Czech homeland, including his gloriously scenic musical trip down the river Vltava.